top of page
  • Writer's pictureVirginia Richins

I Love to See the Temple

Updated: Jun 3, 2022


Flip Chart

For this song I used a picture of my kids looking in at the Provo City Center Temple. You can see my littlest (at the time) trying to climb the gate. I love this picture because it envisions how I felt as a new convert. The temple is such a sacred holy place, and I feel so blessed to have so many temples close to me. Here is the flip chart for this song. As a tip, if you are viewing this from your phone, click the three dots in the upper left hand corner and select "print layout" for easier viewing:

I also created a flip chart with just the words. I like the words rather large so the kids in the back of the room can easily read them from the back the room. It also seems to help the teachers have the words too in case they forget. I just put them in my 3 ring ring binder and flip them up towards me. I like to print them on card stock so I don't have a glare with sheet protectors. You can even reinforce the backs with those little hole reinforcer stickers right where the hole punches are. Here is that file:


Temple Pictures

I had a bit too much fun one night and copied all the images of the temples that I could find on the church website that were landscape images (instead of portrait). Then I put the temple names underneath. There ended up being over 80 temples! I then printed them up on card stock, laminated them, and attached popsicle sticks with super glue. Then I took them to primary and as we sang "I Love to See the Temple" we would hold up the picture of the temple. The kids loved it! These would be great for Nursery as well, and you don't have to print all of them.


Another fun way I used these besides just holding them up every time you sing temple is adding in a second challenge. You also stand or sit everytime you say a word having to do with yourself (e.g. I, I'll, etc). You end up standing if you are currently sitting, or sitting if you are standing. We even sped up the tempo to see how fast we could do it. My pianist was a great sport and played quite fast!


I also thought it could be fun to use them like hot potato and pick a specific temple (maybe the one closest to you) and put a sticker on the back or something and then have the kids pass them to the right as you sing. Then see which child is holding it at the end of the song.


I have also used these and moved them to the words like you would ribbon wands. They enjoyed that way too. The options are really limitless! You can access the google doc here. As a tip, if you are viewing this from your phone, click the three dots in the upper left hand corner and select "print layout" for easier viewing:


That's all the ideas for now! I will keep adding them as we sing this song more this year.

192 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page